Connect with us


Naomi Osaka Claims Maiden Australian Open Title



Japanese tennis star Naomi Osaka beat Czech Republic’s Petra Kvitova in a thrilling Australian Open final to win back-to-back Grand Slams and become the new world number one.

Osaka, 21, who triumphed to her maiden Australian Open title after seeing off Kvitova to win 7-6 (7-2) 5-7 6-4, went into the season-opening Grand Slam in Melbourne as world No. 4.

She also made history for herself by becoming the first singles player from Asia to top the tennis rankings on either the men’s or women’s tour.

Continue Reading


Springboks World Cup Jersey Revealed



The Springboks have revealed their new jersey which they will don at the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan in September.

The jersey, which will go on sale in South Africa on Friday, features a unique design which will compliment the playing style and technical requirements of the Boks, according to the jersey manufacturer

Rassie Erasmus’ charges have been pitted against defending champions New Zealand, Italy, Canada and Namibia in Pool B.

The Springboks will open their world cup campaign against the All Blacks on 21 September.

Continue Reading


PFA Team Of The Year Announced



Title-chasing Manchester City and Liverpool dominate the 2019 Professional Footballers’ Association’s Team of the Year which was announced on Thursday.

The surprise inclusion was that of Manchester United midfielder Paul Pogba, who has been in the centre of the park for the Red Devils, as they slipped to seven defeats in nine matches in all competitions.

City have six players representing the blue side of Manchester while Liverpool has four players in the side.

In another surprise, Mohamed Salah and Chelsea playmaker Eden Hazard have been omitted, despite both being on the six-man shortlist for the Players’ Player of the Year award.

The Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) has named the Premier League Team of the Year for the 2018/2019 season.

PFA Team of the Year:


Ederson (Manchester City)


Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
Virgil Van Dijk (Liverpool)
Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City)
Andy Robertson (Liverpool)


Paul Pogba (Manchester United)
Fernandinho (Manchester City)
Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)


Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)
Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)
Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

Van Dijk scooped the biggest award on the night, the PFA Player’s Player of the Year accolade.

Continue Reading


Paris St Germain Successfully Defend French Ligue 1 Title



Paris Saint-Germain clinched the French Ligue 1 title after second-place Lille could only manage a 0-0 draw at Toulouse on Sunday.

Lille had to win their match to have any chance of catching PSG, but the newly-crowned champions are now 16 points ahead of their only rival with five matches left.

After failing to clinch the title in the past three matches, drawing one and losing two, Tomas Tuchel’s side can celebrate their eighth title in their history ahead of their home game against Monaco next weekend.

It is PSG’s sixth title in the last seven seasons, with only Monaco breaking their dominance back in 2017.

Continue Reading