Hype Avenue

Luka Modric Named Ballon D’or Winner

Croatia captain and Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric was on Monday evening named as the winner of the 2018 Ballon d’Or, at a ceremony that took place in Paris.

Modric became the first player to stall the reign of both Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, who have shared the past 10 editions of the coveted Ballon d’Or between them.

The dimunitive player is also the first player in history to be awarded the World Cup Golden Ball, UEFA Men’s Player, FIFA Best Men’s Player and the Ballon d’Or in the same year.

Modric’s reward comes after he lifted the UEFA Champions League with Los Blancos and guided his country to its first ever FIFA World Cup final in Russia where they lost out to France.

The 33-year-old also won the UEFA Super Cup, the Supercopa de Espana and the FIFA Club World Cup last season, and was named the Player of the Tournament at the Club World Cup.

Other awards on the night saw Paris St Germain and French wonderkid Kylian Mbappe win the inaugural Kopa Trophee for the best younger player of the year, voted for by previous Ballon d’Or winners.

Ada Hegerberg, who turns out for Lyon, became the first ever female to win the Women’s Ballon D’Or.

READ  Kim Kardashian confirms she is expecting a boy with Kanye West

Related posts

REPORTS: Jay Z Cheated On Beyoncé With Kim Kardashian

Selena Gomez and The Weeknd are falling more in love!

Rob Kardashian gives Blac Chyna $1M worth of gifts in a month


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy