Thu. Jun 27th, 2019


Liverpool put last year’s UEFA Champions League missery behind when they beat Tottenham Hotspur 2-0 to be crowned European champions.

An early Mohamed Salah penalty and a late Divock Origi strike earned the Reds their sixth European championship to move third on the list – a figure outranked only by AC Milan (seven) and Real Madrid (13).

It took merely 26 seconds for the spot-kick to be awarded. Sadio Mane’s attempted cross hit the arm of Moussa Sissoko. Salah stepped up and successfully converted the resulting penalty to record the second-fastest goal in a UEFA Champions League final, behind Paolo Maldini’s against Liverpool in 2005.

Liverpool now face another all-English battle for a European trophy when they take on Chelsea, the UEFA Europa League winners, in Istanbul on 14 August 2019.