Fri. May 24th, 2019


Banyana Banyana Duo Scoop Major CAF Honours

2 min read

The Banyana Banyana duo of head coach Desiree Ellis and star striker Thembi Kgatlana picked up major honours at the CAF Awards in Senegal on Tuesday night.

Kgatlana was the biggest winner at the 2018 CAF Awards, scooping the CAF Women’s Player of the Year and Goal of the Year accolades.

Her coach Ellis capped off a historic year for South Africa by being named the CAF Women’s Coach of the Year for 2018.

The Houston Dash forward became only the second South African to lift the Player of the Year trophy, following in the footsteps of fellow Banyana Banyana striker Noko Matlou in 2008.

The pint-sized Kgatlana set the 2018 Women’s AFCON alight in Ghana during the month of November, helping Banyana Banyana to a second place finish as they secured qualification to the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup to be held in France in June.

She scored five goals, won four Woman of the Match accolades and was crowned the Player of the Tournament.

Ellis on the other hand also made history for herself after becoming the first person to win the COSAFA Women’s Championship as both a player and coach, and also the first Banyana coach to secure qualification to the World Cup.

Ellis beat off a strong challenge of Joseph Brian Ndoko (Cameroon) and Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria).

Complete list of 2018 CAF Award winners:

Player of the Year

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year

Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)

Youth Player of the Year

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)

Men’s Coach of the Year

Herve Renard (Morocco)

Women’s Coach of the Year

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Men’s National Team of the Year


Women’s National Team of the Year


Platinum Award

His Excellency Macky Sall (President of the Republic of Senegal)

Federation President of the Year

Fouzi Lekjaa

Goal of the Year

Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)