Hype Avenue

Aphiwe Dyantyi Caps Off Incredible Debut Season With World Rugby Award

Springbok and Lions wing Aphiwe Dyantyi was on Sunday evening named the 2018 World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year in Monaco.

The 24-year-old scored six tries in his first eight Tests for the Boks – including two in the famous win against the All Blacks in Wellington.

Dyantyi held off stiff competition from Ireland’s Jordan Larmour and New Zealand prop Karl Tu’inukuafe to the accolade.

The Ngcobo-born speedster also finished his debut season with 13 caps for the national side.

It was an Irish triple at the ceremony as flyhalf Johnny Sexton scooped the World Rugby Player of the Year award, Ireland were named Team of the Year and Joe Schmidt won Coach of the Year.

Full list of World Rugby Awards winners:

World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year – Johnny Sexton (Ireland)

World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Year, in association with Mastercard – Jessy Trémoulière (France)

World Rugby Team of the Year – Ireland

World Rugby Coach of the Year – Joe Schmidt (Ireland)

World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year – Aphiwe Dyantyi (South Africa)

World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year – Perry Baker (USA)

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year – Michaela Blyde (New Zealand)

World Rugby Referee Award – Angus Gardner (Australia)

Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service – Yoshiro Mori (Japan)

Award for Character – Doddie Weir (Scotland)

Spirit of Rugby Award – Jamie Armstrong, The Clan (Scotland)

IRP Special Merit Award – Stephen Moore (Australia) and DJ Forbes (New Zealand)

READ  Julen Lopetegui Confirmed As Real Madrid’s Next Coach

IRP Try of the Year – Brodie Retallick (New Zealand v Australia)

Related posts

Percy Tau Crowned Undisputed King of the PSL


Marc Marquez Crowned MotoGP Champion


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy