Hype Avenue

Percy Tau Crowned Undisputed King of the PSL

Mamelodi Sundowns attacker, Percy Tau’s sensational season continued when he clean sweeped the PSL awards at a glittering function at the Sandton Convention Centre on Tuesday night.

The Bafana Bafana international walked away with total earnings of R462 500 after winning the main accolades at the Premier Soccer League’s (PSL) end-of-the-season awards.

Tau, 24, won the prized PSL Footballer of the Season award (R250 000), the Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season (R200 000) gong and half of the top scorer of the season winnings tied on 11 strikes with Rodney Ramagalela.

The Brazilians marksman saw off stiff competition from team-mate Hlompho Kekana and Maritzburg United’s Siphesihle Ndlovu to win the PSL Footballer of the Season award. He once again beat Ndlovu and Orlando Pirates’ Musa Nyatama for the Player’s Player of the Season category.

Despite another dismal season which saw Kaizer Chiefs finish the campaign without any silverware, the Amakhosi had something to smile about as goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune walked away with the goalkeeper of the season award, beating Sundowns’ Denis Onyango and Maritzburg’s Richard Ofori.

Mzansi’s number one recorded 16 clean-sheets in 27 matches for Chiefs.

Siyanda Xulu, who has been elected as Bafana’s captain for the COSAFA Cup, overcame fellow colleague Bevan Fransman to the Defender of the Season gong.

Pitso Mosimane deservedly won the Coach of the season award  after beating Maritzburg mentor Fadlu Davids and Orlando Pirates’ Milutin “Micho” Sredojevic.

Full list winners’ list:


Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns) — R250 000

READ  Kaizer Chiefs Gear Up To Defend The Bokone Bophirima Maize Cup

ABSA Premiership Player’s Player of the Season:

Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns) — R200 000

ABSA Premiership Coach of the Season:

Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns) — R75 000

ABSA Premiership Young Player of the Season:

Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United) — R50 000

ABSA Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season:

Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs) — R50 000

ABSA Premiership Defender of the Season:

Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United) — R50 000

ABSA Premiership Midfielder of the Season:

Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United) — R50 000

ABSA Premiership Goal of the Season:

Siphelele Magubane (L. Golden Arrows) — R50 000


Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United) — R80 000


Amr Gamal (Bidvest Wits) — R200 000

NEDBANK CUP: Player of the Tournament:

Lebogang Maboe (Maritzburg United) — R150 000

NEDBANK CUP: Most Promising Player

Lebogang Maboe (Maritzburg United) — R50 000

MULTICHOICE Diski Challenge Precious Find:

Siboniso Conco (L. Golden Arrows) — R30 000

MULTICHOICE Diski Shield Precious Find:

Itumeleng Shopane (Kaizer Chiefs) — R30 000

National First Division Top Goalscorer (15 goals) – Mwape Musonda (Black Leopards) and Peter Shalulile (Highlands Park) – R50 000


Victor Gomes – Referee of the Season — R50 000

Zakhele Siwela – Assistant Referee of the Season — R40 000

Related posts

EXCLUSIVE: Liverpool agree £142m deal to sell Philippe Coutinho to Barcelona

Cristiano Ronaldo Wins UEFA’s Goal Of The Season Award

Moeneeb Josephs Signs For AmaZulu


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy