Hype Avenue

Gareth Southgate Names 23-man England World Cup Squad

England head coach Gareth Southgate has named his 23-man squad to do duty at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia next month.

Tottenham Hotspur, Manchester United and Manchester City lead the squad with the most players. Spurs have five players in the side while the two Manchester clubs each have four.

The former U21 national coach has named the Three Lions’ least-experienced squad since 1962, with the group averaging just 19 caps per player.

The most notable absentees are Joe Hart, Jack Wilshere, Chris Smalling and Adam Lallana.


Jordan Pickford (Everton), Jack Butland (Stoke), Nick Pope (Burnley)


John Stones (Manchester City), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Harry Maguire (Leicester), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ashley Young (Manchester United), Danny Rose (Tottenham), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham)


Eric Dier (Tottenham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Dele Alli (Tottenham), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea, on loan at Crystal Palace), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Fabian Delph (Manchester City)


Harry Kane (Tottenham), Jamie Vardy (Leicester), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)

England are in Group G, and commence their World Cup campaign with a tough encounter against Tunisia on June 18.

READ  Bafana Bafana Lift Four Nations Title

Related posts

2018 COSAFA Cup Draw Sets Up Exciting Fixtures

REVENGE FOR LUKAKU?!!! Chelsea ready to hijack £100m-rated Man United target Gareth Bale!

Mamelodi Sundowns Claim Record Eighth PSL Title


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy