Hype Avenue

France Thrash Croatia To Be Crowned FIFA World Cup Champions

  • France saw off Croatia 4-2 to win their second World Cup in the final at the Luzhniki Stadium on Sunday.
Les Blues took the lead through an unfortunate own goal from Mario Mandzukic before Ivan Perisic levelled matters midway through the first half. Antoine Griezmann put France back in front from the penalty spot after Perisic was adjudged to have handled the ball in the 18-yard area.
Paul Pogba put Didier Deschamps’ charges 3-1 up before teenager Kylian Mbappé but the match beyond doubt.
The Croatians did find a consolation through Mandzukic but France held on to see Deschamps become just the third person to win the showpiece as a player (1998) and manager.
Despite not landing the main prize, there was a bit of a consolation for Croatia captain Luka Modric who was awarded the Golden Ball prize.
Mbappé landed the Young Player Award for his efforts having produced a stellar performance for his side at just 19 years of age.
Chelsea’s Thibaut Courtois, who guided Belgium to the bronze medal finish with a 2-0 win over England, received the Golden Glove Award.
Harry Kane of England landed the Golden Boot award after finishing as the tournament’s top goal scorer with six goals.
The Fair Play Award went to Spain.
READ  Cricket Australia Hands 12 Month Bans To Steve Smith and David Warner!

Related posts

DESTINATION ORLANDO?!!! Pirates To Announce New Signing

"Just hope we gonna continue to work together": George Lebese

Banyana Banyana Successfully Defend COSAFA Women’s Championship Crown


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy