Hype Avenue

Cape Town City Crowned MTN8 Champions

Newly-crowned MTN8 champions Cape Town City avenged their cup final defeat of last season when they overcame defending champions SuperSport United in penalties at a rain-soaked Moses Mabhida Stadium on Saturday evening.

Dutch goalkeeper Peter Leeuwenburgh was the hero of the night, saving two spot kicks, before Thabo Nodada converted the winning penalty to guide the Blue and Gold Army to a 4-1 penalty shootout win over Matsatsantsa a Pitori, after the scores remained deadlocked at 0-0 after 120 minutes.

In what was a repeat of last season’s MTN8 final where SuperSport clinched the title after winning it 4-2 on penalties, this time around, the Citizens were deserved winners after dominating the two hours of play but were let down by finishing in the final third.

This was just City’s second trophy in three finals in just their third year since Chairman John Comitis bought Mpumalanga Black Aces’ status.

It was also double delight and history for the Mother City outfit’s head coach Benni McCarthy who has now won the trophy as a player and a coach.

McCarthy won the MTN8 title with Orlando Pirates back in 2011.

READ  Golden Arrows duo scoop monthly awards for May

Related posts

Stuart Baxter Names Bafana Bafana Squad For Libya Clash

Kaizer Chiefs Given All-Clear By FIFA On Dax

Ooh! Bokang is Siphiwe’s number1 fan!


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy