Hype Avenue

Blitzbokke Crowned 2018 Paris Sevens Champions

The South African Sevens Rugby team, the Blitzbokke overcame England 24-14 to clinch the Paris Sevens tournament title in Paris, France, on Sunday night.
Neil Powell’s men successfully defended their World Rugby Seven Series crown, toppling leaders Fiji with just two points.

Coach Powell was named men’s Coach of the Series at the World Rugby Sevens Series Awards and also became the first person to win the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series as a player and as a coach.

During the 2008/2009 season, Powell was part of the Blitzbokke team that clinched the title (with Paul Treu as coach) and now won it as coach of the same team he played for in 32 tournaments and captained as well during his sevens career.

It was also double delight for South African Dylan Sage after he was named in the Dream Team for the season.

This also capped off a great weekend of rugby after the Springboks beat England 42-39 in a tense match at the Emirates Park on Saturday evening.

READ  Former Kenyan World Champion Nicholas Bett Killed In Car Crash

Related posts

Former Kaizer Chiefs Coach Steve Komphela Takes Over At Bloemfontein Celtic

2018 COSAFA Cup Draw Sets Up Exciting Fixtures

PSL Match Preview: Free State Stars vs Kaizer Chiefs – Ea Lla Koto Out For Revenge Against Amakhosi


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy