Hype Avenue

Bayern Munich Seal Sixth Successive Bundesliga Title

Bayern Munich wrapped up the German Bundesliga title for the sixth successive season following their rampant 4-1 win over Augsburg in the Bavarian Derby on Saturday.

With five games to go, Jupp Heynckes’ side were eager to seal the championship sooner rather than later.

The visitors fell behind as early as the 18th minute through a Niklas Sule own goal but Corentin Tolisso, James Rodriguez, Arjen Robben and Sandro Wagner all scored to see Bayern become German league champions for the 28th time in their history.

Heynckes, now in his fourth spell at the club, opted to rest top scorer Robert Lewandowski, Thomas Mueller, Thiago Alcantara, Mats Hummels and Javi Martinez, with the UEFA Champions League second leg against Sevilla in sight.

The Germans hold a slender 2-1 away lead after beating the Spanish side in their own backyard a week ago and will look to finish the job in the second leg at home and keep their treble hopes alive.

READ  PSL Match Report: Amakhosi Held To A Stalemate By Ten Man Team Of Choice

Related posts

The First Lady Of Sport Carol Tshabalala Goes Global: Watch her anchor the Premier League Football Today live show at 15:30

PSL Match Preview: Maritzburg v Chiefs – Winless Team Of Choice Out To Upset Amakhosi

Rafael Nadal Clinch Record 11th French Open Title


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy